header 1
header 2
header 3

2023 Scholarships Awarded

The 2023 Ken Tashian Memorial Scholarships

The Scholarship committee comprised of Dave Oshinsky, Caryn Starr-Gates, Laurie Morlini-Valdetara and Stan Cohen, previewed a detailed list of 170 applicants. We developed a system, really Dave's idea, by which we could score the students according to the criteria established and have a by-the-numbers evaluation. The potential candidates went from 20 to 10, and then down to our 5 finalists. They then received the following the letter:

This letter is to inform you that you have been selected as a finalist for the second annual Ken Tashian Memorial Scholarship. The Ken Tashian Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a graduating Paramus High School student who embodies Ken’s lifelong Spartan spirit and pride. This student is someone who has served the Paramus High School and the Paramus community through the following:

  • Demonstrate care and compassion for others through words and deeds
  • Commitment to fostering strong relationships among the student body and with faculty
  • Demonstrate natural leadership qualities
  • Academic enthusiasm and achievement
  • School spirit and participation in extra-curricular activities
  • Volunteerism and community service
  • Taking on personal, academic and/or work challenges
  • You can learn more about Ken and his contributions to the alumni of PHS on our website at ParamusSpartans.net.

We have made our determination so far by your responses submitted in the administration's questionnaire. We want to know more about you that you may not have covered, or how each of your activities contributed to you being the person that you are now. Therefore, we request that you write and submit a short essay (250 to 500 words) that showcases how you have demonstrated these attributes during your time at Paramus High School, and how you foresee your participation or activities will influence your college years and beyond.

Your response is due by end of day, Wednesday, May 17. Responses received after that date will not be considered and you will not be eligible for further consideration.

Please acknowledge receipt of this email so that we have confirmation. We look forward to your responses.

The essays received back were then circulated for review. (Most of these will be published with further student info.) A Zoom meeting was held, multiple emails, phone calls exchanged until we concluded that the five finalists were all worthy choices.

The five scholarship awards were awarded on June 14, 2023 to the following Seniors (left-to-right):

Michael Bruk who will attend American University to study International Relations.

Sara Memon who will attend University of Pennsylvania and have a dual major in International Studies and Business.

Christina Quinones who will attend Columbia University to study Public Policy and Psychology.

Danielle Park who will attend Duke University to study Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.

Krishi Shah who will attend New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) to study Computer Science.

Paramus High School 5 Ken Tashian Memorial Scholarship award winners 2023
Thank you
to the many contributors who made this night possible.

(L-to-R) Board of Trustees Stan Cohen, Laurie Morline-Valdetara (Class of 1974) and Class of 1964 members Al DeLauro, Marty Sender, Jim George, and Ken Finlay (not pictured) attended, Photo by Dave Ofshinsky, '74.

The Board of Trustees thanks you for support to make these scholarships possible. We continue our goal to build a sustainable scholarship fund that will support deserving students for many years to come. For more information about the scholarship, or to make a tax-deductible donation, please go to our Scholarship page.

With appreciation for your support,

The PHS Alumni Association Board of Trustees